Ireland Under 20 name side to face Wales :: 11 Mar 13:38

Ciaran Gaffney returns.

The Ireland Under-20 team to play Wales in the penultimate round of the RBS 6 Nations has been named.

Head coach, Nigel Carolan has made a number of changes to the side that lost to England in their last outing.

Ciaran Gaffney who returns from a hamstring injury, joins Sam Arnold and Billy Dardis in the back line.

In the pack, a new look second row sees Cian Romaine promoted from the bench to pair up with Josh Murphy who moves from the back row.

Conor Oliver makes his first appearance of the tournament along with Nick Timoney, who comes in from the replacements, to partner up with Lorcan Dow to complete the pack.

Head Coach, Nigel Carolan said "It was disappointing to lose to England in the last round, but we have put that behind us now in preparation for Wales.”

“We have addressed the key areas that were highlighted against England and hopefully we can take our chances when they come along. The championship is still there for the taking and we look forward to getting it back on track this Friday.”

The Wales U20 v Ireland U20 game will broadcast live on RTE 2 on Friday evening, coverage starting at 19.30hrs.

Ireland Under-20 team & Replacements (v Wales Under-20. Parc Eirias, Colwyn Bay – Kick-off 19.45hrs)
15 – Billy Dardis (UCD/ Leinster)
14 – Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)
13 – Garry Ringrose (UCD/ Leinster)
12 – Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
11 – Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/ Munster)
10 – Ross Byrne (UCD / Leinster)
9 – Nick McCarthy (UCD/ Leinster) (Capt)
1 – Jeremy Loughman (UCD / Leinster)
2 – Zack McCall (QUB/Ulster)
3 – Oisin Heffernan (Terenure/Leinster)
4 – Cian Romaine (Buccaneers/Connacht)
5 – Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
6 – Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
7 – Conor Oliver (St. Mary’s/ Leinster)
8 – Lorcan Dow (QUB/Ulster)

16 – Adam McBurney (Ballymena/Ulster)
17 – Andrew Porter (UCD/ Leinster)
18 – Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
19 – David O’Connor (St. Mary’s/Leinster)
20 – Stephen McVeigh (Buccaneers/ Connacht)
21 – Conor Young (QUB/Ulster)
22 – Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
23 – Jacob Stockdale (QUB/ Ulster)