Wales team for South Africa :: 27 Nov 11:26

Gethin Jenkins, Liam Williams and Scott Baldwin return to the starting line-up.

Jenkins and Baldwin replace the England-based Paul James and Richard Hibbard, who are unavailable. The rest of the pack is unchanged from last Saturday’s clash with New Zealand. Williams is the only change in the backs, replacing the injured George North.

In the replacements, Emyr Phillips, Aaron Jarvis, James King, Rhys Priestland and Scott Williams come in, with James Hook unavailable and Justin Tipuric missing out.

Warren Gatland said: “We have had a couple of changes forced upon us, with the injury to George (North) and with Paul (James) and Richard (Hibbard) returning to their clubs but we have named what we think is a very strong side,”

“Last weekend was a very intense, physical encounter. The guys were disappointed but we have come in this morning, the squad are feeling fresh and the focus is looking ahead to Saturday and the test against the Springboks.

“As coaches we will be asking for the same effort, intensity and desire as last week and we want a repeat of that at the Millennium Stadium on Saturday.”


Leigh Halfpenny (Toulon), Alex Cuthbert (Cardiff Blues), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Racing Metro), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys); Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Unattached), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, Capt), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Emyr Phillips (Scarlets), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Rhodri Jones (Scarlets), Luke Charteris (Racing Metro), James King (Ospreys), Mike Phillips (Racing Metro), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets).