Wales Women Announce Side For Scotland :: 06 Mar 12:05

Harries returns in Wales Women shake-up

Wales Women’s head coach Rhys Edwards has called on his team to be ‘ruthless’ against Scotland this Sunday after naming a side with five changes to the starting line-up which defeated Italy last time out in the RBS Six Nations championship.

Four changes have been made in the engine room with prop Megan York and hooker Carys Phillips replacing Jenny Davies and Lowri Harries respectively while Vicky Owens comes in for Gemma Hallett in the second row and Sioned Harries returns to the back row at the expense of Catrina Nicholas.

The only change in the backline sees experienced winger Caryl James replace Rafiuke Taylor who drops out of the match day squad altogether with Neath Athletic’s Charlie Murray joining the replacements bench.

“As a squad we’ve always talked about ‘performance’ and although we were up against it when we played France, we gained a lot of confidence from our win against Italy where the girls got the job done,” said Edwards.

“Going into the game against Scotland we have to maintain the levels for the entire 80 minutes as we had a lot of possession against Italy but butchered five clear cut scoring chances.

“If we had been more ruthless with our finishing, our points difference ratio would be in a much healthier position going into this weekend’s game.”

Referring to the change of personnel for the clash against Scotland, he added: “Gemma [Hallett] and Jenny [Davies] have been carrying knocks so it’s about managing the players. Saying that, Megan [York] did really well when coming on against Italy.

“With Sioned [Harries] coming back from injury ahead of schedule, her return gives us a really quick back row now, as Nia Davies has taken her chance. If Sioned does struggle at all, it’s great to have someone of Catrina Nicholas’ experience as a replacement. And we’ve brought back Caryl James on the wing as she has more experience than Rafiuke Taylor and she did well when coming on against France.”

Wales Women v Scotland, Scotstoun, Sun 10 March. (KO 2pm)
15 Dyddgu Hywel (Caernarfon)
14 Caryl James (Cardiff Quins)
13 Elen Evans (Waterloo)
12 Rebecca De Filippo (Cardiff Quins)
11 Philippa Tuttiett (Cardiff Quins)
10 Elinor Snowsill (Bristol)
9 Laura Prosser (Pontyclun)

1 Meg York (Blaenau Gwent)
2 Carys Phillips (Cardiff Met)
3 Catrin Edwards (Cardiff Quins)
4 Vicky Owens (Pontyclun)
5 Shona Powell Hughes (Neath Athletic)
6 Sioned Harries (Cardiff Quins)
7 Nia Davies (Cardiff Met)
8 Rachel Taylor (Bristol, captain)

16 Lowri Harries (Neath Athletic)
17 Jenny Davies (Waterloo)
18 Bethan Howell (Seven Sisters)
19 Gemma Hallett (Pontyclun)
20 Catrina Nicholas (Cardiff Quins)
21 Amy Day (Unattached)
22 Charlie Murray (Neath Athletic)
23 Leila Johns (Unattached).